Winifred Goldring Award

Association for Women Geoscientists

Suggest an update

Grant amount: US $2,000

Anticipated deadline: Apr 15, 2020

Applicant type: Graduate Student

Funding uses: Research

Location of project: Anywhere in the world

Location of residency: Anywhere in the world

Gender restriction: Female

View website    Save Need help writing this grant?


The award, which consists of a $2000 cash prize and membership in the Paleontological Society and AWG for tenure of the awardee’s schooling, will be presented to an outstanding female student pursuing a career in paleontology.

The award is named for Winifred Goldring, a pioneering woman paleontologist, who became State Paleontologist of New York State in 1939 and the first female president of the Paleontological Society in 1949. This award was made possible by the generous donations of David Watkins and MaryAnne Holmes.  

You can learn more about this opportunity by visiting the funder's website.


  • Applicants must be women pursuing education as a graduate student in the paleontological – and affiliated – sciences at a degree-granting institution.
  • Applicant must be enrolled as a student during the period of the award.
  • Successful applicants will exhibit exceptional motivation, professional potential, outreach, and long-term commitment to goals.
  • No prior AWG or PS membership is required.
  • National or international students are allowed to apply, with the exception of sanctioned countries.


  • Students may receive the Winifred Goldring Award only once during the tenure of their graduate school careers.