Beinecke Scholarship Program

The Sperry Fund

Suggest an update

Deadline: Feb 10, 2021

Grant amount: US $34,000

Fields of work: Art & Culture Humanities & Social Science

Applicant type: Undergraduate Student

Funding uses: Scholarship

Location of project: Anywhere in the world

Location of residency: United States, American Samoa, Northern Mariana Islands

Location of citizenship: United States, American Samoa, Northern Mariana Islands

University restriction: Amherst College University of Arizona Barnard College - Columbia University Bates College Beloit College Boston College Boston University Bowdoin College Brandeis University City University of New York, Brooklyn College Brown University Bryn Mawr College Bucknell University University of California, Berkeley University of California, Irvine University of California, Los Angeles University of California, San Diego University of California, Santa Barbara Carleton College Carnegie Mellon University Case Western Reserve University University of Chicago Claremont McKenna College Colby College Colgate University Colorado College Columbia University Connecticut College University of Connecticut Cornell University Creighton University Dartmouth College Davidson College University of Delaware Denison University Dickinson College Dillard University Drew University Duke University Earlham College Emory University University of Florida Fordham University Franklin and Marshall College Furman University Georgetown University University of Georgia Gettysburg College Grinnell College Hamilton College Hampshire College Hampton University Harvard University Haverford College College of the Holy Cross Howard University City University of New York, Hunter College University of Illinois Indiana University at Bloomington University of Iowa Johns Hopkins University Kenyon College Lafayette College Macalester College University of Maryland at College Park Massachusetts Institute of Technology University of Massachusetts at Amherst University of Miami Miami University of Ohio Michigan State University University of Michigan - Ann Arbor Middlebury College Mills College University of Minnesota - Twin Cities Campus Morehouse College Mount Holyoke College New York University University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Northwestern University University of Notre Dame Oberlin College Occidental College Ohio State University Pennsylvania State University Pepperdine University University of Pittsburgh Pomona College Princeton University Purdue University City University of New York, Queens College Reed College Rice University University of Richmond University of Rochester Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey Sarah Lawrence College Smith College University of Southern California Spelman College St. John's College Maryland St. John's College New Mexico Stanford University State University of New York at Stony Brook Swarthmore College Syracuse University University of Texas at Austin Trinity College Connecticut Trinity University Tufts University The Tulane University of New Orleans Vanderbilt University Vassar College University of Vermont University of Virginia Wake Forest University Washington and Lee University Washington University in St. Louis University of Washington Wellesley College Wesleyan University Whitman College University of Wisconsin - Madison Xavier University of Louisiana Yale University

View website    Save

About this funder:



NOTE: Nominations are made by the college or university. Students should contact their campus liaison for information. Nominations are due on the second Wednesday in February.

The Beinecke Scholarship Program was established in 1971 by the Board of Directors of The Sperry and Hutchinson Company to honor Edwin, Frederick, and Walter Beinecke. The Board created an endowment to provide substantial scholarships for the graduate education of young men and women of exceptional promise. The program seeks to encourage and enable highly motivated students to pursue opportunities available to them and to be courageous in the selection of a graduate course of study in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Since 1975 the program has selected more than 490 college juniors from more than 100 different undergraduate institutions for support during graduate study at any accredited university.

There are no geographic restrictions on the use of the scholarship, and recipients are allowed to supplement the award with other scholarships, assistantships and research grants. Scholars are encouraged to begin graduate study as soon as possible following graduation from college, and must utilize all of the funding within five years of completion of undergraduate studies.


Each year approximately 125 colleges and universities are invited to nominate a student for a Beinecke Scholarship, and up to 20 new scholarships will be awarded. Each school invited to participate in the Beinecke Scholarship Program is permitted to make a single nomination each year. 

Students enrolled at a participating institution who are interested in applying for a Beinecke Scholarship should contact their campus liaison for information regarding the procedure to be followed in selecting the school’s nominee.

You can learn more about this opportunity by visiting the funder's website.


  • To be eligible for a Beinecke Scholarship, a student must:
    • Have demonstrated superior standards of intellectual ability, scholastic achievement and personal promise during his or her undergraduate career.
    • Be a college junior pursuing a bachelor’s degree during the 2019-20 academic year.
      • “Junior” means a student who plans to continue full-time undergraduate study and who expects to receive a baccalaureate degree between December 2020 and August 2021.
    • Plan to enter a master’s or doctoral program in the arts, humanities or social sciences.
    • Be a United States citizen or a United States national from American Samoa or the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands.
    • Have a documented history of receiving need-based financial aid during his or her undergraduate years.


  • Students in the social sciences who plan to pursue graduate study in neuroscience should not apply for a Beinecke Scholarship.


This page was last reviewed April 04, 2020 and last updated April 04, 2020