Note: This grant page has been archived and is very likely out of date.

Commonwealth Academic Fellowships

Commonwealth Scholarship Commission

Grant amount: £5,000 - £20,000

Anticipated deadline: Nov 15, 2018

Applicant type: Postdoctoral Researcher

Funding uses: Fellowship

Location of project: Anywhere in the world

Location of residency: Anguilla; Antigua and Barbuda; Bangladesh; Barbados; Belize Expand all

Location of citizenship: Anguilla; Antigua and Barbuda; Bangladesh; Barbados; Belize Expand all

Must travel to: United Kingdom

Degree requirements: Applicants must be within a few years of receiving their PhD

View website    Save Need help writing this grant?


Commonwealth Academic Fellowships are offered for early career academics from developing Commonwealth countries. These fellowships are funded by the UK Department for International Development (DFID), with the aim of contributing to the UK’s international development aims and wider overseas interests, supporting excellence in UK higher education, and sustaining the principles of the Commonwealth.

You can apply for a Commonwealth Academic Fellowship to spend between three and ten months at any approved UK university or higher education institution. Applications must include a justification for the length of award requested.

Purpose: To provide early career academics with the opportunity to plan, conduct, or write research, to encourage applications from universities where capacity building is a priority, and to enhance knowledge, skills and contacts in Fellows’ given disciplines.

You can learn more about this opportunity by visiting the funder's website.


  • To be eligible, you must:
    • Be a Commonwealth citizen, refugee, or British protected person
    • Be a permanent resident in a developing Commonwealth country
    • Be employed by a university in a developing Commonwealth country
    • Be available to start your fellowship in the UK on 1 October 2018.
      • Any other start date will be permitted only in exceptional circumstances
    • Have been awarded your PhD between two and ten years prior to October 2017
    • Not have previously held a Commonwealth Academic Fellowship within five years
    • AND have been awarded your PhD by a UK university while on a Commonwealth Scholarship
    • OR be in the employment of your nominating university