Commonwealth Master’s Scholarships

Commonwealth Scholarship Commission

Suggest an update

Grant amount: Up to £15,000

Next deadline: Oct 30, 2020 9:00am PDT (Pre proposal)

Later deadlines: Nov 20, 2020 8:00am PST (Full proposal)

Applicant type: Masters Student

Funding uses: Scholarship

Location of project: United Kingdom

Location of residency: Antigua and Barbuda; Bangladesh; Belize; Botswana; Cameroon Show all

Location of citizenship: Antigua and Barbuda; Bangladesh; Belize; Botswana; Cameroon Show all

View website    Save



Each year, the CSC invites selected nominating bodies to submit a specific number of nominations. 

You must apply to one of the following nominating bodies in the first instance – the CSC does not accept direct applications for these scholarships:

All applications must be made through one of these nominating bodies. Each nominating body is responsible for its own selection process. You must check with your nominating body for their specific advice and rules for applying, their own eligibility criteria, and their own closing date for applications. 

Commonwealth Master’s Scholarships are for candidates from low and middle income Commonwealth countries, for full-time Master’s study at a UK university.

Funded by the UK Department for International Development (DFID), Commonwealth Master’s Scholarships enable talented and motivated individuals to gain the knowledge and skills required for sustainable development, and are aimed at those who could not otherwise afford to study in the UK. These scholarships are offered under six themes:

  • Science and technology for development
  • Strengthening health systems and capacity
  • Promoting global prosperity
  • Strengthening global peace, security and governance
  • Strengthening resilience and response to crises
  • Access, inclusion and opportunity

You can learn more about this opportunity by visiting the funder's website.


  • You should apply to study at a UK university which has a part funding agreement with the CSC.
    • View a full list of UK universities with part funding agreements
  • To apply for these scholarships, you must:
    • Be a citizen of or have been granted refugee status by an eligible Commonwealth country, or be a British Protected Person
    • Be permanently resident in an eligible Commonwealth country
    • Be available to start your academic studies in the UK by the start of the UK academic year in September/October 2019
    • The CSC would not normally fund a second UK Master’s degree. If you are applying for a second UK Master’s degree, you will need to provide justification as to why you wish to undertake this study
    • Be unable to afford to study in the UK without this scholarship