Damon Runyon-Rachleff Innovation Award

Damon Runyon Cancer Research Foundation

Suggest an update

Anticipated deadline: Jul 1, 2021

Grant amount: US $400,000 - US $800,000

Fields of work: Cancer/Oncology

Applicant type: Faculty, Unaffiliated Researcher

Funding uses: Research

Location of project: Anywhere in the world

Location of residency: United States

Degree requirements: Applicants must be within a few years of receiving their PhD

View website    Save


Damon Runyon-Rachleff Innovation Award

The Damon Runyon-Rachleff Innovation Award is designed to provide support for the next generation of exceptionally creative thinkers with “high-risk/high-reward” ideas that have the potential to significantly impact our understanding of and/or approaches to the prevention, diagnosis or treatment of cancer.

The Innovation Award is specifically designed to provide funding to extraordinary early career researchers who have an innovative new idea but lack sufficient preliminary data to obtain traditional funding. It is not designed to fund incremental advances. The research supported by the award must be novel, exceptionally creative and, if successful, have the strong potential for high impact in the cancer field.

You can learn more about this opportunity by visiting the funder's website.


  • The Innovation Award funds are intended to be flexible and can be used for a variety of scientific needs including the Investigator’s salary, salaries for professional and technical personnel, special equipment, supplies and other miscellaneous items required to conduct the proposed research.
  • Institutional nominations are not required and there is no limit to the number of applications that can be received from a particular institution.
  • Applicants (including non-U.S. citizens) must be conducting independent research at a U.S. research institution.
  • The applicant must have received an MD, DO, PhD, or MD/PhD degree(s) from an accredited institution.
  • Basic and translational/clinical projects will be considered. Applications will be accepted from all scientific disciplines provided that the proposed research meets the selection criteria.
  • Joint submission from two collaborators working in different disciplines will be considered. (The collaborators will share the award.) Each collaborator must meet the eligibility criteria.
  • Applicants must belong to one of the following categories:
    • Tenure-track Assistant Professors within the first five (5) years of obtaining their initial Assistant Professor position (Cut-off date: July 1, 2015).
    • Clinical Instructors and Senior Clinical Fellows (in the final year of their sub-specialty training) holding an MD, MD/PhD, DO who are pursuing a period of independent research before taking a tenure-track faculty position. Such individuals must have an exceptional record of research accomplishment, dedicated laboratory space and the support of their institution.
    • Distinguished Fellows with an exceptional record of research accomplishment identified by their institution to pursue an independent research program and who have dedicated laboratory space. These candidates are markedly distinct from traditional postdoctoral fellows. Examples: Whitehead Fellows, UCSF Fellows, Cold Spring Harbor Fellows.
  • Applicants are expected to commit a minimum of 80% of their time to conducting research.
  • Applicants may apply no more than two times.
  • Applicants must demonstrate that they have access to the resources and infrastructure necessary to conduct the proposed research.
  • The department must guarantee the Investigator is conducting the proposed research independently.


  • Applicants with a background in multiple disciplines are especially encouraged to apply.


  • The Award cannot be used for indirect costs or institutional overhead.
  • Research Assistant Professors, Research Associate Professors, Research Scientists and Postdoctoral Fellows are not eligible. If you are unsure about your eligibility for this award program, please contact the Foundation's Award Programs.

This page was last reviewed July 02, 2020 and last updated July 02, 2020