Devra G. Kleiman Memorial Scholarship for Wildlife Conservation

Zoo Conservation Outreach Group

Suggest an update

Grant amount: Unspecified amount

Anticipated deadline: Aug 1, 2020 2:00pm PDT

Applicant type: Working Professional

Funding uses: Conference

Location of project: Anywhere in the world

Location of residency: Brazil

View website    Save Need help writing this grant?

About this funder:



Devra G. Kleiman Memorial Scholarship for Wildlife Conservation

The Devra G. Kleiman Memorial Scholarship for Wildlife Conservation honors the life, work, and memory of Dr. Devra Gail Kleiman, former assistant research director and senior research scientist at the Smithsonian National Zoological Park in Washington, DC. Widely regarded as a pioneer in the field of conservation biology, Dr. Kleiman was also the author of over 150 scientific and popular publications, editor or coeditor of several books, including the much-referenced Wild Mammals in Captivity, and a mentor to hundreds of students throughout the world. Dr. Kleiman is also well recognized for her contributions to environmental conservation in Brazil, most notably, for leading a cooperative international effort to save the golden lion tamarin and its Atlantic Coast rainforest habitat.

To celebrate Dr. Kleiman’s lifetime contributions to wildlife conservation and local capacity building in Brazil, ZCOG created the Devra G. Kleiman Memorial Scholarship for Wildlife Conservation, which provides annual scholarship funding to help support the participation of Brazilian zoo and aquarium personnel in professional training courses offered by the Association of Zoos & Aquarium’s (AZA). The scholarship is funded through ZCOG’s Devra G. Kleiman Memorial Trust for Wildlife Conservation.

You can learn more about this opportunity by visiting the funder's website.


  • Applicants must be employees or associates of a Brazilian zoo, aquarium, or related facility, and possess a functional proficiency in English.



  • Applicants may only submit one scholarship application per year.
  • An individual cannot be awarded the same scholarship more than once.