Ellen Trout Zoo Crocodilian Conservation Scholarship

Zoo Conservation Outreach Group

Suggest an update

Grant amount: Unspecified amount

Anticipated deadline: Aug 1, 2020 2:00pm PDT

Applicant type: Museum/Library/Zoo Research Scientist Graduate Student Faculty Postdoctoral Researcher

Funding uses: Conference, Training / Capacity Building

Location of project: Anywhere in the world

Location of residency: Caribbean, Central America, South America

Must travel to: St. Johns County, Florida

View website    Save

About this funder:



Latin America possesses one of the highest levels of crocodilian diversity on earth and is home to the Orinoco crocodile (Crocodylus intermedius) and the Cuban crocodile (Crocodylus rhombifer), both of which are critically endangered species. The Ellen Trout Zoo Crocodilian Conservation Award was established by ZCOG and Ellen Trout Zoo in recognition of the growing threat of extinction faced by crocodilian species native to the Americas. The Award promotes professional training in crocodilian biology, conservation, and captive management for zoo and aquarium colleagues from countries in Latin America and the Caribbean Basin. Award recipients receive full scholarship funding to participate in the Association of Zoos and Aquariums’ (AZA) Crocodilian Biology and Captive Management professional training course.    

The Ellen Trout Zoo of Lufkin, Texas, sponsors this annual scholarship award.

You can learn more about this opportunity by visiting the funder's website.


  • Applicants must be employees or research associates of zoos, aquariums, or related facilities in Latin America or the Caribbean Basin, and must possess a functional proficiency in English. 
  • Applicants must possess a functional proficiency in English.
  • Individuals may submit only one scholarship application per year.


  • For this scholarship, preference is given to individuals demonstrating past or present involvement in cooperative captive breeding programs or crocodilian field conservation efforts with AZA member institutions or other regional partners.