Elisabeth Walton Potter Oregon Heritage Preservation Scholarship

Oregon Parks and Recreation Department

Suggest an update

Grant amount: US $500 - US $1,500

Next anticipated deadline: Jun 7, 2020 11:59pm PDT

Later anticipated deadlines: Nov 22, 2020

Applicant type: Individuals

Funding uses: Conference

Location of project: Oregon

Location of residency: Oregon

Age restriction: At least 18 years of age

View website    Save


The Oregon Heritage Preservation Scholarship provides financial assistance for Oregon residents to attend a preservation-related conference, workshop, or training. Eligible travel expenses include registration fees, transportation (e.g. air fare, personal vehicle mileage, etc.), lodging, and meals.

Scholarships are competitive and offered twice per year. Scholarships will be offered to those actively involved in local preservation efforts and who demonstrate in their application how attendance at a preservation-related conference, workshop, or training will help meet the preservation needs of their local community. Scholarship recipients will be expected to share what they learn from the conference, workshop, or training with others through a post on the Oregon Heritage Exchange blog, a public presentation, or some other way approved by Oregon Heritage.

The scholarship is offered by Oregon Heritage, part of the Oregon Parks and Recreation Department, in honor of Elisabeth Walton Potter. Potter was a long-time historian with the State Historic Preservation Office and coordinator for the National Register of Historic Places program in Oregon.

You can learn more about this opportunity by visiting the funder's website.


  • Must be Oregon residents at least 18 years of age. 
  • Must be active in local preservation efforts. This includes activities in historic preservation, archives, museums, Main Street, etc. 


  • A match is not required, however, additional support or contributions will make the application more competitive.
  • Priority will be given to non-state employees.
  • Priority will be given to applicants who have not received the scholarship before.