FEMS-Jensen Award

Federation of European Microbiological Societies

Suggest an update

Deadline: Mar 1, 2021

Grant amount: Up to €10,000

Fields of work: Microbiology

Applicant type: Postdoctoral Researcher, Unaffiliated Researcher, Working Professional, PhD Student

Funding uses: Research

Membership: Applicants must be a member of this organization to apply. Become a member.

Location of project: Anywhere in the world

Location of residency: Anywhere in the world

Location of citizenship: Europe

Age restriction: No more than 36 years of age

Degree requirements: Applicants must be within 3 years of receiving their PhD

View website    Save


The FEMS-Jensen Award was established to support Early Career Scientists and microbiologists in particular. It is named after the Danish soil microbiologist Dr Hans Laurits Jensen (1898-1977). The award was initiated through a donation by the UK-microbiologist Dr John R. Norris CBE, an Editor of Methods in Microbiology and a former FEMS Treasurer.

Dr Jensen was a tutor of Dr Norris and many other soil microbiologists. He was one the 20th Century’s foremost scientists and teachers in the fields of symbiotic and non-symbiotic nitrogen fixation, soil microbiological activity, and the taxonomy of Actinomycetes, Azotobacter, mycobacteria and coryneform bacteria, as well as being a pioneer in microbial degradation of pesticides. Dr Jensen was active in England and Australia, as well as in his native Denmark.

The award is intended to recognize academic achievement and superior research accomplishments showing significant potential to develop an outstanding research career. The award honours Dr Hans Laurits Jensen for helping young scientists in establishing their scientific career.

You can learn more about this opportunity by visiting the funder's website.


  • Outstanding European students of microbiology at the final stages of their PhD studies, or those who received their PhD-degree less than three years from the application deadline may apply.
  • Applicants should be less than 36 years old at the time of the application deadline.
  • Applicants must be member of FEMS society.

You must be a member of this organization to apply for this award - become a member.

This page was last reviewed March 02, 2020 and last updated March 02, 2020