Freeport-McMoRan Foundation: Native American College Scholarship

Freeport-McMoRan Foundation

Suggest an update

Grant amount: Up to US $5,000

Anticipated deadline: Jun 1, 2020

Applicant type: Undergraduate Student

Funding uses: Scholarship

Location of project: Arizona

Location of residency: Arizona

Exclusive to minorities: Yes

Minimum GPA: 2.5

View website    Save Need help writing this grant?

About this funder:



The Freeport-McMoRan Foundation provides scholarships for students attending community colleges, tribal colleges and four-year universities. The scholarships are funded by the Freeport-McMoran Foundation and administered by the Phoenix Indian Center, Inc.

This program is open to students who are members of the Hualapai, San Carlos Apache, Tohono O'odham and White Mountain Apache tribes.

The value of this scholarship is $2,500/per semester for attendance at a four-year university or tribal college and $1,250/per semester for attendance at a community college. This scholarship covers one academic year.

You can learn more about this opportunity by visiting the funder's website.


  • Student must be an enrolled member of one of the following tribes:
    • Hualapai
    • San Carlos Apache
    • White Mountain Apache
    • Tohono O’odham  
  • Student is attending a community college or four-year public university in Arizona.  
  • Students entering college as freshman, as well as sophomores and juniors are welcome to apply. 
  • Candidate must enroll or be enrolled as a full-time student (minimum of 12 credit hours) in one of the following disciplines or degree programs: 
    • Primary: 
      • Minerals Engineering (mining, metallurgy, geology, chemical or environmental)
      • Education (e.g., teaching/ specifically in STEM related fields)
    • Secondary: 
      • Business or business-related majors (e.g., accounting, finance, economics, math)
      • Engineering (e.g. civil, chemical, electrical, mechanical)
      • Life Sciences (e.g. biology, nursing, pharmacy, pre-med, public health)
      • Natural Sciences (e.g., chemistry, physics) 
      • Sustainability (e.g. environmental)
      • Technology (e.g., computer science, programming, database)


  • Although secondary majors will be considered, preference will be given to primary majors.


  • Not applicable for part-time students.
  • Not applicable for graduate school. 
  • In no event will a student receive a scholarship for more than a combined maximum of four years of undergraduate study.