Rosalind Franklin Young Investigator Award

The Gruber Foundation/The Genetics Society of America

Suggest an update

Grant amount: US $75,000

Anticipated deadline: Apr 15, 2022

Applicant type: Faculty

Funding uses: Research

Location of project: Anywhere in the world

Location of residency: Anywhere in the world

Gender restriction: Female

Degree requirements: Applicants must have a completed PhD

View website    Save

About this funder:



In recognition of the groundbreaking contributions of Dr. Rosalind Franklin, the Rosalind Franklin Young Investigator Award for research in genetics is intended to inspire and support new generations of women in our field. The awards are made to women in the first one to three years of an independent faculty-level position whose work displays originality and scientific creativity leading to new discoveries.

Women may nominate themselves or be nominated by a colleague, mentor, or department. The Rosalind Franklin Award is intended to honor independence and creativity in science in one's developing years.

The Rosalind Franklin Young Investigator Award is funded by The Gruber Foundation, and is administered by the Genetics Society of America. Award winners are chosen by a jury of senior geneticists and previous awardees.

Every three years, two women are chosen to receive the Rosalind Franklin Award, and each awardee receives $75,000 over three years ($25,000 per year). One award funds genetics research in human and non-human mammals, and another award funds genetics research in model organisms.

Award Dates & Terms

What are the start and end dates of the award?

The award winner will receive $25,000 per year beginning in the year following the application and ending two years later. For this next round, award money will be received in 2019, 2020, and 2021.

Is the award money given to the individual or the institution that the individual is with?

These awards are unrestricted, with the limitations listed below, and may be used for any purpose that advances the genetics research of the recipients. Payment may be made to the recipients directly or to their research institutions. If recipients choose to receive payments themselves, they are responsible for all applicable taxes on the monies.

You can learn more about this opportunity by visiting the funder's website.


  • Funds may be used only for expenses related to the recipient's research program and may not be used to support the recipient's salary or to support institutional overhead or indirect costs. Research supported by these funds must meet all applicable, legal, ethical, and regulatory standards.
  • This award is for young female independent investigators from anywhere in the world; US citizenship is not required. As an independent investigator, the nominee should be directing her own laboratory and be listed as the Principal Investigator for research being published from her laboratory.
  • Although there is no age limit for applicants, the award is targeted at women who are in the beginning stage of an independent research career. The objective is to support women who will be starting or have just started their own independent lab and will be the principal investigator on the research from that lab. Most likely these will be women who have recently finished postdoctoral research and are moving on in their careers.
    • If a nominee has passed the three-year deadline because she has taken time off for maternity leave within the first three years of an independent position, we will take that into account and consider her eligible for the award.
  • The award is designed for a researcher who is already in or about to be in an independent research position. If a woman does not yet know where she will be located, she is not eligible for the award.
  • If a nominee already has an offer that she has accepted to begin an independent research lab at any point in time from June 2018 to January 2019—when the award is officially distributed—then she is eligible for the award.
  • Board certification in genetics is not a requirement for nomination.
  • As long as she is within the first three years of her faculty appointment and she is doing independent research, she is eligible for the award, even if she is not on a tenure track.