Harriet Evelyn Wallace Scholarship

American Geosciences Institute

Suggest an update

Grant amount: US $5,000

Anticipated deadline: Feb 2, 2021

Applicant type: Graduate Student

Funding uses: Scholarship

Membership: Applicants must be a member of this organization to apply. Become a member.

Location of project: United States

Location of residency: United States

Gender restriction: Female

Minimum GPA: 3.0

View website    Save

About this funder:




Established in 1984, the AGI Foundation

  • Supports educational, scientific, and charitable activities that benefit the geoscience community, member societies and associates of the American Geosciences Institute, and the public at large, and
  • Assists the Institute in seeking funding support for specific programs and endowments and in developing partnerships with corporations, private foundations, and other funding organizations.

The Harriet Evelyn Wallace Scholarship was established from a bequest given to AGI by Harriet Evelyn Wallace, who was one of the founding members of the Geoscience Information Society (GSIS).  

This scholarship is for the support of female graduate students in the United States studying the geosciences.  A new scholar is named each year, and every scholar is eligible for up to two years of support.  There will be one candidate from each degree-level selected. 

You can learn more about this opportunity by visiting the funder's website.


  • This scholarship is available to all women pursuing a Master's or Doctoral degree in the geosciences at an accredited U.S. institution of higher education in a recognized geoscience program.
  • Successful applicants will be thesis-based, full time students and due to the nature of the position.
  • Applicant must either be a U.S. citizen or permanent resident.
  • Applicants must also be a member of at least one of AGI's member societies, a list of which is available here
  • Applicant must have at least 1 year remaining in the graduate program. 
  • The successful applicant will be awarded $5,000 for her first scholarship year.
    • She will be eligible for a second year scholarship of $5,000 upon successful completion of her first year.
      • Renewals will be a competitive "recompete" and scholar must submit additional materials to qualify and be considered. 
  • The successful applicant will have an undergraduate GPA of 3.25 or higher and a graduate GPA of 3.0 or higher.

You must be a member of this organization to apply for this award - become a member. Applicants must also be a member of at least one of AGI's member societies.


  • We also strongly encourage incoming Master's students to apply. 


  • If the successful scholar graduates within the first year of the award, she will not be eligible to apply for a second year. 
  • Incomplete applications will not be considered.