Jonathan O. Davis Scholarship in Quaternary Sciences: National Scholarship

Desert Research Institute

Suggest an update
Crystal ball icon
Predicted Deadline
The next cycle for this opportunity is predicted based on past data. If you save this grant, we’ll notify you if there are any changes.

Predicted deadline: Nov 13, 2021

Grant amount: US $2,500 - US $5,000

Fields of work: Geology

Applicant type: Graduate Student

Funding uses: Research

Location of project: California, Idaho, Nevada, Oregon, Utah Show all

Location of residency: United States

View website    Save

About this funder:



The Desert Research Institute Jonathan O. Davis Research Scholarship is awarded annually to outstanding Masters and PhD students conducting research relevant to the Quaternary geology, geomorphology, and/or geoarchaeology of the Great Basin. Awards will be made to the highest ranking Masters and PhD student proposals. A Masters student will be funded up to $2500 and a PhD student will be funded up to $5000. 

The scholarship funds are intended to support students conducting graduate research activities within the Great Basin. Students doing research on any aspect of the Quaternary geology, geomorphology, and/or geoarchaeology of the Great Basin are encouraged to apply.

Jonathan O. Davis was a Quaternary geologist, geoarchaeologist, and DRI faculty member who was dedicated to research in the Great Basin. The endowment that supports this award was established in his memory by his family and friends to support and promote Quaternary research that impacts the understanding of the Quaternary science of the Great Basin.   

Awardees will be invited to share the results of their research with Desert Research Institute faculty.

You can learn more about this opportunity by visiting the funder's website.


  • To be eligible, students must be enrolled in a Masters or PhD program in the United States.
    • If the award nominee’s enrollment status changes during the semester in which the award is made, the scholarship funds will be forfeited.


  • Previous awardees in each category (Masters or PhD) are ineligible for subsequent submission in the same category.
    • However, awardees at the Masters level are eligible for subsequent submissions at the PhD level. 


This page was last reviewed August 04, 2020 and last updated August 04, 2020