KNVM: Van Leeuwenhoek Award

Koninklijke Nederlandse Vereniging voor Microbiologie

Suggest an update

Grant amount: €500

Anticipated deadline: Dec 15, 2020

Applicant type: Postdoctoral Researcher

Funding uses: Research

Location of project: Netherlands

Location of residency: Netherlands

View website    Save


The KNVM/NVMM science committee offers the Van Leeuwenhoek Awards (EUR 500) to microbiologists for the best first publication as last author, one each in the categories:

  • General microbiology
  • Medical microbiology
  • Microbial ecology

The Van Leeuwenhoek Awards, which were first awarded in 2009, are in commemoration of Antonie van Leeuwenhoek. Van Leeuwenhoek constructed a light microscope, which could magnify a few hundred times. This achievement made him a pioneer in the field of microbiology.  The Jury consists of members of the KNVM/NVMM science committee.

You can learn more about this opportunity by visiting the funder's website.


  • Applicants must be postdoctoral researchers.
  • The award is for best first publication as last author.