KNVM: Westerdijk Award

Koninklijke Nederlandse Vereniging voor Microbiologie

Suggest an update

Grant amount: €1,000

Anticipated deadline: Dec 15, 2020

Applicant type: PhD Student

Funding uses: Research

Membership: Applicants must be a member of this organization to apply. Become a member.

Location of project: Netherlands

Location of residency: Netherlands

View website    Save Need help writing this grant?


The KNVM/NVMM science committee awards up to three prizes for the best PhD-thesis, one each in the categories:

  • General microbiology
  • Medical microbiology
  • Microbial ecology

Candidates, whom are society members, should submit their PhD-thesis on condition that it was defended less than a year ago.

The prizes, which were first awarded in 2009, are named after Johanna Westerdijk. She was appointed professor at the University of Utrecht in 1917 and was the first female professor in the Netherlands. She was director of the phytopathology laboratory Willie Commelin Scholten and showed that the elm disease (generally known as dutch elm disease) was caused by the fungus Ceratocystis ulmi.

You can learn more about this opportunity by visiting the funder's website.


  • Candidates must be society members.
  • The PhD-thesis must have been defended less than a year ago.

You must be a member of this organization to apply for this award - become a member.