Multipurpose Forestry Award

Royal Dublin Society (RDS)

Grant amount: €1,000 - €2,000

Anticipated deadline: Jul 14, 2018

Applicant type: Individuals Organizations

Funding uses: Education / Outreach

Location of project: Ireland

Location of residency: Ireland

Location of citizenship: Ireland

View website    Save Need help writing this grant?


RDS Forest & Woodland Awards

Celebrating the best forests and foresters in Ireland, 'RDS Forest and Woodland Awards' are the only awards of their kind in Ireland. They recognise and reward farmers and woodland owners who are employing the principles of Climate-Smart Agriculture on their properties including: sound commercial management, environmental protection and encouragement of bio-diversity.

The twin goals of promoting the economic and environmental benefits of good forestry and farming is the underlying motivation behind these Awards. The goal of the RDS Agriculture and Rural Affairs programme is to promote best practice and efficiency in farming to ensure farm household profitability and sustainability in Ireland.

The RDS has been involved in forestry since the 1740s with many of Ireland’s oldest remaining forests originally planted on foot of RDS grants (or premiums as they were known). The Awards continue the RDS tradition of involvement in forestry by highlighting excellent Irish farmers and communicating what they are able to accomplish through the application of best practice and innovative management techniques.

Multipurpose Forestry Award

The Multipurpose Forestry category is open to individuals and organisations that are expanding or developing existing or new forest habitats through natural and environmentally sensitive methods. 

Judges will take into account the planning and management of the area, ecological awareness, social benefit, silviculture methods, control of grazing animals and invasive species, as well as sensitive felling and thinning.

You can learn more about this opportunity by visiting the funder's website.


  • Be a minimum of four hectares. No maximum area.
  • Everyone with woodlands is encouraged to enter the Awards as all woodlands, large or small, are of merit.
  • Be established for at least ten years. 
  • These Awards are open to applicants from the entire island of Ireland. 


  • First place Award winners in the previous four years are not eligible to enter.