Ray Lankester Fellowship

Marine Biological Association of the United Kingdom

Suggest an update

Grant amount: £1,500 - £7,500

Anticipated deadline: Jan 31, 2020

Applicant type: Postdoctoral Researcher Unaffiliated Researcher

Funding uses: Research, Fellowship

Membership: Applicants must be a member of this organization to apply. Become a member.

Location of project: United Kingdom

Location of residency: United Kingdom

Degree requirements: Applicants must be within a few years of receiving their PhD

View website    Save Need help writing this grant?


Ray Lankester

Ray Lankester was a brilliant zoologist who studied arthropods, molluscs and protozoans. His teaching career began under Professor T.H. Huxley at the then Royal College of Science, but he later held chairs at University College London (1874-90) and at Oxford (1891-98). He was also Director of the Natural History Museum (1898-1907). He was effectively the founder of the MBA which originated at the International Fisheries Exhibition in 1883, and was honorary secretary of the MBA from 1884 until he became President in 1890. Lankester actively promoted fishery research at Plymouth and was instrumental in obtaining the grant from the government for the MBA to conduct the English share of the International North Sea investigations, 1902-09.

Purpose: To advance the knowledge of marine animals and marine plants or to further the development of marine biology.

Nature of the Award: The current value of the Ray Lankester Investigatorship is £1,500 per calendar month for a maximum of five months.  The funds can be used at the discretion of the Investigator to enable the proposed schedule of work to be carried out, which must take place within 2 years of the award being made. 

You can learn more about this opportunity by visiting the funder's website.


  • The awards are intended to provide opportunities for established researchers to work at the Laboratory of the Marine Biological Association (Citadel Hill, Plymouth).
  • One or two Fellowships will normally be awarded each year.

You must be a member of this organization to apply for this award - become a member. Successful applicants will be required to become members of the Association.