RMLA Technical Documentation Award

Resource Management Law Association of New Zealand Inc. (RMLA)

Suggest an update

Deadline: Aug 30, 2020

Grant amount: Unspecified amount

Fields of work: Natural Resources

Applicant type: Unaffiliated Researcher, Working Professional, Faculty, Postdoctoral Researcher

Funding uses: Research

Membership: Applicants must be a member of this organization to apply. Become a member.

Location of project: New Zealand

Location of residency: Anywhere in the world

View website    Save


The RMLA makes regular awards in the field of resource management. The criteria for the 2020 awards have been amended to place greater emphasis on diversity, inclusion, and innovation.

The focus of the awards is to:

  • Award excellence in resource management documents including National Standards, Policy Statements, section 32 analyses, District or Regional plans or other such documents, prepared by or on behalf of government or local authorities in fulfilment of their duties under the Resource Management Act 1991.
  • Recognise outstanding contributions to the Resource management field of law and practice by individuals.
  • Award projects and publications, such as books and journals, that have made or make a significant contribution to the development of best practice and the implementation of the RMA's purpose and principles, or enable a better or more complete understanding of resource management law, theory and practice by the resource management community or interested general public.

Awards Criteria: Documentation

The Award

The RMLA occasionally makes awards to technical documentation which makes a significant contribution to the development of the practice of resource management and/or exhibits innovation and excellence in the technical approach(es) used. 


This award of the Association shall be made at the discretion of the National Committee. The nominees for awards should be appropriately qualified or recognised professionals within their field. The majority of the team is expected to be RMLA members, and diversity in team members is expected. Printed hard copies of documents are not a requirement, and in particular, where documents have been designed to be electronic, submissions in electronic format are welcomed.

Examples of technical documentation that may be considered include (but are not limited to): district and regional plans, iwi management plans, technical guidance, methods and standards, plain English guidance to assist interpretation, environmental management tools, Strategy documents and Assessments of Effects on the Environment (AEE). 


The overall criteria shall be that the document has made a significant contribution to the advancement of the law, theory and practice of resource management – usually with a technical or applied focus.

In the case of a Policy Statement, National Standard, Plan or document that is submitted for evaluation in accordance with the criteria for this award, the following are examples of the considerations taken into account:

Where relevant, has the plan or document complied with the requirements of the Act for its class of document (eg sections 59 to 76 and 80 of Act)?

  • Evidence of section 32 analysis.
  • Does the plan have a flow through issues, objectives, policies, methods and reasons to results?
  • Have the issues, objectives, standards and/or policies been expressed clearly and stated appropriately?
  • Is there consistency with other RMA documents?
  • Is there clarity in activity?
  • Has the Document or Plan applied best current knowledge or practice for various effects, and does it have any innovative techniques of merit?
  • Form
  • Clear expression, plain English
  • Consistent use of terminology
  • Logical pattern
  • Ease of finding all policies, objectives, rules for one activity
  • Typeface, size, leading, layout
  • Maps and diagrams of clarity

You can learn more about this opportunity by visiting the funder's website.


  • The nominees for awards should be appropriately qualified or recognised professionals within their field.
  • Any nomination for any team award must identify in submitted documentation any current National Committee members that are team members (or are in the same firm, company or related entity as any team member). 

You must be a member of this organization to apply for this award - become a member. The majority of the team is expected to be RMLA members.

This page was last reviewed July 06, 2020 and last updated July 06, 2020