Bertha Stoneman Award

South African Association of Women Graduates

Suggest an update

Anticipated deadline: Mar 25, 2021

Grant amount: R2,500

Fields of work: Chemistry Physics Biology Earth Science Space Science

Applicant type: Graduate Student

Funding uses: Research

Membership: Applicants must be a member of this organization to apply. Become a member.

Location of project: Anywhere in the world

Location of residency: South Africa

Gender restriction: Female

View website    Save


The South African Association of Women Graduates (SAAWG) is an affiliate of the International Federation of University Women (IFUW), one of the world's most important and prestigious non-governmental organisations devoted to the betterment of women. 

Within South Africa, the SAAWG is unique as the only group of graduate women of many disciplines. Its constitution lays down that it is a totally non-racial and non-political organisation.

International and national fellowships, scholarships, bursaries and awards are available to members.

In conjunction with IFUW and FUWA the focus of SAAWG is the graduate woman. The Association is committed to:

  •  Improving the status of women and girls
  •  Furthering the development of education
  •  Assisting women to move into decision-making positions
  •  Protecting human rights
  •  Promoting peace

The SAAWG promotes the tertiary education of women and their self-development over their lifespan. It seeks equity for women graduates, cross cultural insights and co-operation, and societal advancement. Its great underlying purpose is world peace, brought about through education and international friendship.

You can learn more about this opportunity by visiting the funder's website.


  • For a female applicant undertaking postgraduate studies/research in:
    • Botany
    • Natural Sciences or
    • Related studies (including Environmental Studies)
  • Applicants must be studying in South African Universities or Universities  of Technology.
  • There is option for renewal of scholarship.

You must be a member of this organization to apply for this award - become a member.

This page was last reviewed March 26, 2020 and last updated March 26, 2020