Kushlan Research Award

Waterbird Society

Suggest an update

Grant amount: US $1,000 - US $7,000

Anticipated deadline: Feb 1, 2021

Applicant type: Individuals

Funding uses: Research

Location of project: Anywhere in the world

Location of residency: Anywhere in the world

View website    Save

About this funder:



Kushlan Research Award

Jim Kushlan has been a driving force behind research and conservation of the world’s herons for over three decades. He was Director of the Patuxent Environmental Science Center for the US Geological Service, Chair of the Department of Biology at the University of Mississippi, Director of the Center for Water Resources Studies at East Texas State University, and Research Biologist with the U.S. Department of the Interior. Dr. Kushlan received his doctorate from the University of Miami in 1974 and has written or co-authored scores of scientific papers and scholarly books. The generous grant to the Waterbird Society in 2000 established an endowment to provide support for the research award in his name.

About the Kushlan Research Award

The goal of the Kushlan Research Award in Ciconiiform Biology and Conservation is to encourage significant scientific advances in the biology, ecology, or conservation biology of wading birds (i.e. herons, storks, ibises, and their taxonomic allies). The grants committee currently solicits proposals that focus on:

  1. Species relationships within the group
  2. The status, range, and population sizes of little-known species of Ciconiiformes

Financial and education status of applicants are not considerations. Selection is made by a committee based on the applicant’s likelihood of publishing timely and substantial contributions to the literature. Depending on the scientific merit of the competition, awards will be offered in most years – one or more awards from $1,000 to $7,000 will be made.

You can learn more about this opportunity by visiting the funder's website.


  • These grants are open globally to any student, professional, or amateur. 


  • The same proposal cannot be submitted for more than one award in a given year.